Do you want to start a cleaning business in Florida? It’s crucial to start your business correctly. If you don’t follow the rules, you could face fines and penalties.
You can avoid unpleasant surprises by obtaining the correct Florida cleaning licenses.
This article will walk through some of the common steps that you must take to start a business, regardless of where you are located in the state. You may also need to take into consideration city-specific requirements.
Remember that regulations are subject to change. Consult the state and local government to find out the latest requirements for Florida cleaning businesses.
Starting a cleaning company in Florida: 5 easy steps
Are you ready for your cleaning business to take off? Here are 5 easy steps to start your cleaning business the right way.
1. Register your business with the state of Florida
You must file your business with the state unless you are a sole proprietor. A filing fee is required.
- LLC – $125
- Corporation – $70
- General Partnership – $50
- Limited Partnership – $1,000
2. File a fictitious statement of business
You must file an “acting as” form, or a “fictitious business declaration”, with the Florida Department of State if you are a sole proprietor and want to run your business under a different name than your legal one.
Not a sole proprietor? A DBA is also required by corporations, partnerships, and limited liability companies operating under a name other than their legal name.
Florida fictitious names registration costs $50.
3. Get an employer identification number
You need an EIN if you have employees, run a multimember LLC, belong to a partnership, or are a corporation.
IRS does not require single-member LLCs or sole proprietorships to have EINs. However, having an EIN makes it easier to separate business and personal finances. It also shows that you are serious about your business – it is not just a hobby.
You won’t pay anything to get an EIN. You can request one by completing the form SS-4, faxing or mailing it to the IRS.
4. Acquire a business license
Florida does not require residential cleaners to have a license. However, you will need a business license for mobile detailing in many counties and municipalities within the state. You can check with the county or city clerk’s office in the area where you intend to start your business.
5. Obtain a sales tax permit
A tax permit isn’t required if you only plan to include residential homeowners in your client list. It will only be required if you also serve commercial clients.
There is no registration fee if you register online. However, if you choose to register by mail there will be a $5 charge.
Florida local cleaning business license requirements
It’s also important to meet local regulations after meeting state requirements. Find out from the city clerk or county clerk in the area where you plan to start your business what licenses and permits are required.
1. Miami-Dade County
You’ll need an occupational license if you plan to open a business in Miami County.
You will also need both a receipt for local business taxes from the city and the county if your business is located in a county municipality.
Depending on the location of your business within the county you may require two tax receipts.
Do you plan to serve the Jacksonville region? You’ll need a tax receipt before you can start accepting clients. This license is proof that you have paid all taxes required to run a business in Jacksonville.
If you run a business in Tampa you will need two tax receipts – one from the City of Tampa, and another from Hillsborough County. This license proves that you have paid all the taxes required to operate your business legally within the city and the county.
You must pay an operating tax before you can start a business in Orlando. When you pay your business tax, the city will issue a receipt.
You’ll need to have a local tax receipt and a Certificate of Use to show that you are allowed to run your business in the location where your business is located.
Florida Cleaning Businesses Insurance Requirements
If you have enough policy limits and the essential types of Florida Business Insurance, it can protect your company from financial losses. Consider these common insurance types.
This protects you in the event of an injury or illness at work. This type of insurance is required if your cleaning business has more than four employees. Otherwise, it’s optional. It may still be worth purchasing even if you are exempt from buying workers’ compensation coverage. You can reduce your out-of-pocket expenses if an employee or you are injured or sick at work.
This is one of the most popular types of insurance for businesses. It covers third-party injury and property damage claims.
Tools, equipment, and supplies
This is an add-on policy to your general liability insurance that will pay to replace or repair damaged equipment or supplies or if someone steals or damages them.
You’ll need to travel to and from the offices and homes of your clients. If you are in an accident when driving for your job, you won’t be covered by your personal auto policy, but a Commercial Auto Policy will.
Bonds for Florida cleaning companies
If you are not working with a government agency, you probably don’t need a bond to operate your cleaning company. However, it can make you more attractive to clients who only hire bonded firms.
You may wish to consider two different types of bonds for your business.
- Surety Bond. This bond protects your clients against theft. If an employee steals from a customer, the surety company (the one that issued the bond) pays to replace the item.
- Bonds for licenses and permits. Government agencies often require this kind of bond. This bond lets your client know that you comply with all laws and regulations applicable during your work.
How BizInsure can help cleaning businesses
Get insurance for your cleaning business quickly, easily, and affordably with BizInsure.
Get a quote today.
This information is a general guide only and does not take into account your objectives, financial situation or needs.
As with any insurance, coverage will be subject to the terms, conditions and exclusions contained in the policy wording. The information contained on this guide is general only and should not be relied upon as advice. The number of quotes provided varies between products, occupations and other underwriting factors determined by the insurers.
© Copyright 2023 BizInsure LLC, 2015 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED BizInsure LLC; CA DBA: Simple, Smart, BizInsure Insurance Agency LLC; NY DBA: BizInsure Services LLC; NH DBA: Simple, Smart, BizInsure Insurance Agency; PA DBA: BizInsure Services LLC. 2950 Buskirk Ave Suite 300, Walnut Creek CA 94597. License #0H81929